Geoparque Unesco

Geoparks Network Structure


The network structure is quite simple and is formed by an Advisory Board (11 members including UNESCO, IUGS and IUCN representatives) and a Coordination Committee (two representatives from each Geopark). The Coordination Committee is the only decision making committee of the EGN. As part of the Coordination Committee, there is a European Geoparks Network Coordinator and a Vice Coordinator, elected to represent the whole Network. They coordinate contacts with other international institutions (UE, UNESCO, IUGS, IUCN, European Counsel, etc.) and they manage the meetings in collaboration with the host country of the meeting.

The activities of the network are financed by individual members but typically funded by different EU funds (LEADER, INTERREG, CULTURA, etc…).

Membership of the European Geoparks Network is limited to a period of four years for all members. After that, membership is re-evaluated. The first revalidation procedure took place in 2004 and since that time it has been one of the most important internal procedures of the Network, which help to guarantee the quality of the infrastructures and services in the Geoparks

The revalidation procedure implies a revalidation exercise regarding its progress in the preservation of the geological heritage and the promotion of the Geopark, as well as the development of sustainable economical activity within the region. However, the degree of active participation as a member of the Network will also be taken into account: attendance at the meetings, participation in joint projects such as the European Geoparks Week, willingness to lead new projects, etc.

Avda. Ordesa 79. 22340 Boltaña. Huesca. 974 518 025.