Geoparque Unesco

Apr 17, 2020

Siguenos en RRSS

Jun 06, 2019

Excava 2019

May 10, 2018

Geolodía 2018

Apr 26, 2017

Proyecto Mallata

Apr 17, 2017

Geolodía 2017

Apr 27, 2016

Geolodía 2016

Dec 18, 2015

Feliz Navidad

Jun 06, 2014


May 05, 2014

Geolodía 2014

Aug 22, 2018

Renewal of members of the UNESCO World Geoparks Council

The Director General of UNESCO has recently made the appointment of the manager of the Sobrarbe-Pirineos UNESCO Global Geopark, Ana Ruíz Conde, as a new member of the Council of the UNESCO Global Geoparks,, for a period of four years (2018-2022), position to which she had submitted her candidacy and has finally been appointed.

Ana Ruíz on her last mission to evaluate the revalidation of Jeju Island Geopark, in South Korea

This is the first time that there is a Spanish representative in this management body, so from the Sobrarbe-Pirineos Geopark we are very proud, and it is a great honor that our representative has been appointed to this position of responsibility. From there she will work to contribute to the development of the UNESCO Global Geoparks, within the framework of the International Geosciences and Geoparks Program. And always in collaboration with the rest of the members of the Board and with the aim of continuing the progress and the strengthening of the program during the next years.

The Council of Geoparks of UNESCO, composed of twelve members appointed by the Director General of UNESCO, is the body responsible for evaluating new candidatures for the UNESCO Global Geoparks Program, as well as the revalidation of existing Geoparks, through the preparation of the corresponding reports for the Executive Board of UNESCO. In addition, it has a key advisory role for the Director General of UNESCO in the strategy, planning and implementation of the UNESCO Global Geoparks.

The Council is composed of 12 members with voting rights, all high-profile experts chosen for their proven experience, scientific or professional qualifications. They are appointed by the Director General of UNESCO on the recommendation of the Global Geoparks Network (GGN) and the Member States. The Council has 4 members without the right to vote. These are the Director General of UNESCO, the President of the GGN, the Secretary General of the IUGS and the Director General of the IUCN or their representatives.

The Council meets once a year during a regional or international conference on UNESCO Global Geoparks. The next meeting will take place on September 8 and 9, 2018, in Adamello Brenta UNESCO Global Geopark, Italy, which will be attended by Ana Ruíz.

Avda. Ordesa 79. 22340 Boltaña. Huesca. 974 518 025.